EVENTS

 

On October 18th, 2018, during the 150th anniversary of the Missionaries of Africa, whose founder Charles Lavigerie had campaigned against slave trade in Africa, Sr. Margit Forster gave a talk on “Modern Slavery and the fight against Human Trafficking in Germany Today”. The celebration took place in the Catholic School St. Francis, Berlin.
To celebrate the 10th anniversary of SOLWODI Berlin, friends, network partners, supporters and colleagues gathered at a summer-warm May evening in the community center of the Evangelische Brüdergemeine. While entering the light-filled community hall, the visitor was greeted with impressive paintings by women of the SOLWODI Art Course.
At the rear of the hall an installation impressed, which was created especially for the occasion of this year’s anniversary by the artist Monika Ortmann.
In addition, winning works from the design competition of the broken hearts foundation, which calls for more courage to stand up against modern slavery, were presented as postcards and posters.
(read more)
While the Duo Lebensgeister, Miriam Bondy and Olaf Garbow, accompanied the evening with polyphonic world music, Gudrun Angelis moderated the contributions of Susanna Kahlefeld (MP Berlin, Alliance 90/The Greens), Burkard Dregger (MP Berlin, CDU), Sr. Lea Ackermann as well as Margit Forster and Mabel Mariotti.
Afterwards, the buffet was opened and, with a glass of wine, the guests enjoyed the various art-displays or chatted in the garden.
The evening showed that many people have been touched by the 10 years work of the counseling center, but that the number of victims of trafficking has increased and there is more need for action at social and political level.
All in all, the anniversary celebration was a wonderful social gathering that most probably left an imprint in many hearts and minds.
  Thoughts on the summer party 2017. It is a beautiful day in August, the sun is shining, in contrast to the last days and it seems as if on purpose, because today the SOLWODI summer party is supposed to take place. During the last days we had lots to organize, went shopping and also had a look at the location – the „Tempelhofer Feld“.
 (more)
The day begins, as usual, at the counseling center, but very soon we start packing the cars, which have been made available to us by various volunteers. The mood is cheerful, but also slightly tense and the question, “will everything work out?” lingers in the air. We arrive early at the location, and fortunately not alone. Many volunteers have come early to help us prepare everything. Tables are set up as a buffet and many colorful blankets serve as „picnic tables”. Little by little our women appear. In most cases, they push buggies in front of them, they are mostly in groups and smile over the entire face. They embrace us to say hello and start to bring their self-prepared food to the buffet. Slowly the women settle down and start talking. Some already know each other, some meet for the first time, yet the mood is not tense, contrary to expectations. Soon there is much laughter, singing and dancing. As soon as most of the women are present, the buffet is solemnly opened and the food is celebrated. Many children run around, play with balls and soap bubbles, laugh a lot and feel visibly happy. I especially like the openness with which the women meet. No matter where they originally come from, no matter what religion they belong to, they come together and celebrate, not next to each other but with each other. But what are we celebrating? I guess this is quite individual, but you could actually celebrate everything today: the freedom to come together on this day, the fact that SOLWODI is an organization which obviously can bring a diverse range of women together, that the women can come together and laugh despite their story, that they bring wonderful children with them, or simply that we all live this life at this time and meet in such a magical moment. The whole party is like a parallel universe, I partly feel detached from time and space. I could be anywhere in the world, no matter what time, I believe as long as I am with these women it will be a wonderful day. Unfortunately, however, this day passes quickly; I am terribly tired and very happy at the same time. What remains is the hope to be there the next time and my memory of a little miracle. Ronja Mohs (intern)
From 19th – 25th March 2017 Mabel Mariotti attended a training course on migration and human trafficking, organized by the European network RENATE (Religious in Europe Against Trafficking and Exploitation) in Ravenstein, Netherlands. This was a good opportunity to strengthen and expand our network of religious and NGO contacts active in this area.

Foto ©mazur/santamartagroup.com

From 26th -27th October 2016 Sister Mabel Mariotti represented SOLWODI at the plenum of the Santa Marta Group in the Vatican. This international group of bishops, police chiefs, religious and the voluntary sector from 30 countries, initiated 2014 with Pope Francis, deliberates how human trafficking can be curtailed through partnerships between the institutions concerned.
  Sister Mabel Mariotti (SOLWODI Berlin e. V.) und Sister Adina Balan (SOLWODI Romania) held a workshop on human trafficking and forced prostitution at a European Conference on the subject. The event took place from the 6th – 12th November 2016 in Rome and was organized by the European network RENATE.
dvsg_2016-8-bearbeitet Mabel Mariotti was invited as a trainer on the field of human trafficking by JRS Europe. The three-day workshop for approximately 30 co-workers of the JRS, who are active in deportation custody in nine European Countries (Detention Visitors Support Group), took place in Brussels in June 2016.
stettin-bei-solwodi-berlin-bearbeitet Monika Grötzinger was invited to the “Faculty of Humanities” at the University of Stettin in Poland in April 2016, where she reported on SOLWODI’s work with human trafficking victims from Africa in the seminar series “Social work with refugees and migrants”.
Catholic Congress in Leipzig: Mabel Mariotti gave a speech during a panel session of the group Religious in Europe Networking Against Trafficking and Exploitation (RENATE). “No longer Slaves, but Sisters and Brothers.”
stettin-002-bearbeitet In June 2016 a group of social work students from the University of Stettin visited the SOLWODI Berlin e. V. specialized counselling center. They were given an insight into the organization by Monika Grötzinger.

VERANSTALTUNGEN

  Gedanken zum Sommerfest 2017
Es ist ein schöner Tag im August, die Sonne scheint, im Gegensatz zu den letzten Tagen, und es scheint, als wäre es mit Absicht, denn an diesem Tag soll das SOLWODI Sommerfest stattfinden. Die letzten Tage wurde viel eingekauft, organisiert und sich auf dem Tempelhofer Feld umgesehen. (weiterlesen)
Anders als andere Tage beginnt dieser Tag zwar in der Beratungsstelle, jedoch beginnen wir schon sehr bald, die Autos vollzupacken, welche uns von verschiedenen Ehrenamtlichen zur Verfügung gestellt wurden. Die Stimmung ist fröhlich, aber auch leicht angespannt und es liegt die Frage in der Luft, ob alles so klappen wird wie geplant. Wir sind früh vor Ort und glücklicherweise nicht alleine. Viele Ehrenamtliche sind schon früher gekommen, um uns beim Aufbau zu helfen. Tische werden als Buffet aufgestellt und viele bunte Decken dienen als „Picknick-Tisch“. Nach und nach erscheinen unsere Frauen. Sie schieben in den meisten Fällen Kinderwägen vor sich her, sind meist in Grüppchen und strahlen über das gesamte Gesicht. Es wird sich zur Begrüßung in den Arm genommen und festlich packen die Frauen ihre selbst zubereiteten Speisen aus, welche wir auf dem Buffet ansehnlich arrangieren. Langsam lassen sich die Frauen nieder und kommen miteinander ins Gespräch. Einige kennen sich bereits, manche sehen sich zum ersten Mal, dennoch ist die Stimmung wider Erwarten nicht angespannt. Es wird viel gelacht, gesungen und bald auch getanzt. Sobald die meisten Frauen anwesend sind, wird das Buffet festlich eröffnet und das Essen zelebriert. Viele Kinder rennen umher, spielen mit Bällen und Seifenblasen, lachen viel und fühlen sich sichtlich wohl. Besonders schön finde ich die Offenheit, mit welcher sich die Frauen begegnen. Egal woher sie ursprünglich stammen, egal welcher Religion sie zugehörig sind, sie kommen zusammen und feiern, nicht nebeneinander sondern miteinander. Aber was feiern wir eigentlich? Ich schätze das ist ganz individuell, aber feiern könnte man eigentlich an diesem Tag alles: Die Freiheit zusammen zu kommen, dass es SOLWODI als eine Organisation gibt, die ganz offensichtlich verschiedenste Frauen zusammen bringen kann, dass die Frauen ihrer Geschichte zu trotz lachen, dass sie wundervolle Kinder mitbringen oder aber einfach, dass wir alle in diesem Leben am Leben sind und uns in solch einem magischen Moment begegnen. Das gesamte Fest gleicht einem Paralleluniversum, teilweise fühle ich mich losgelöst von Zeit und Raum. Ich könnte grade überall auf der Welt sein, egal zu welcher Uhrzeit, ich glaube solange ich mit diesen Frauen wäre… es wäre ein wundervoller Tag. Leider jedoch geht auch dieser Tag schnell vorbei, ich bin furchtbar müde und zeitgleich sehr glücklich. Zurück bleibt die Hoffnung, auch das nächste Mal dabei zu sein und meine Erinnerung an ein kleines Wunder. Ronja Mohs (Praktikantin)
Vom 19. bis 25. März 2017 fand in Ravenstein, Niederlande, eine Schulung des europäischen Netzwerks von Ordensschwestern  gegen Menschenhandel und Ausbeutung (RENATE – Religious in Europe Against Trafficking and Exploitation) zum Thema Migration und Menschenhandel statt, an der Mabel Mariotti teilnahm. Es war eine gute Gelegenheit, die Vernetzung zu Ordensschwestern und NGOs in anderen europäischen Ländern, die sich für Betroffene von Menschenhandel einsetzen, zu vertiefen und auszubauen.

Foto ©mazur/santamartagroup.com

Vom 26. bis 27. Oktober 2016 hat Sr. Mabel Mariotti SOLWODI bei der im Vatikan stattfindenden Vollversammlung der Santa Marta Group vertreten. Diese internationale Gruppe von Bischöfen, Polizeichefs, Ordensleuten und in der Gesellschaft Engagierten aus über 30 Ländern wurde vor zwei Jahren auf Initiative von Papst Franziskus gegründet und berät wie Menschenhandel durch die Zusammenarbeit der verschiedenen betroffenen Institutionen eingedämmt werden kann.
  Sr. Mabel Mariotti (SOLWODI Berlin e. V.) und Sr. Adina Balan (SOLWODI Rumänien) haben im Rahmen einer Europäischen Konferenz über Menschenhandel einen Workshop über das Thema Menschenhandel und Zwangs-prostitution durchgeführt. Das Event fand vom 6.11.16 bis 12.11.16 in Rom statt und wurde vom europäischen Netzwerk RENATE organisiert.
dvsg_2016-8-bearbeitet Mabel Mariotti wurde vom JRS Europa als Trainerin zum Thema Menschenhandel eingeladen. Der dreitägige Workshop für ca. 30 Mitarbeiter_innen des JRS, die sich in neun europäischen Ländern im Abschiebegewahrsam engagieren (Detention Visitors Support Group), fand im Juni 2016 in Brüssel statt.
stettin-bei-solwodi-berlin-bearbeitet Im Juni 2016 kam eine Gruppe Student_innen der Sozialen Arbeit aus der Stettiner Universität die Fachberatungsstelle von SOLWODI Berlin e.V. besuchen. Sie erhielten einen Einblick in die Arbeit der Organisation durch einen Vortrag von Monika Grötzinger.
Beim Katholikentag in Leipzig hat Mabel Mariotti bei einer Podiumsveranstaltung der Ordensleute in Europa gegen Menschenhandel und Ausbeutung (RENATE) „Nicht mehr Sklaven, sondern Schwestern und Brüder“ mitgewirkt.
stettin-002-bearbeitet Monika Grötzinger wurde im April 2016 an die „Faculty of Humanities“ der Stettiner Universität in Polen eingeladen, um im Rahmen der Seminarreihe „Sozialarbeit mit Flüchtlingen und Migranten“ über die Arbeit von SOLWODI mit Menschenhandelsopfern aus Afrika zu berichten.